Press "Enter" to skip to content

How do the features of the ocean floor compare with the features of continents?

How do the features of the ocean floor compare with the features of continents?

The topography of the ocean floor is as diverse as that of continents. Three topographic features: mid-ocean ridges, trenches, abyssal plains. Both are used to find out more about the seafloors topography. Satellites use remote sensing to bounce microwaves off the sea surface to determine difference in height.

How do the landforms on the ocean floor differ from those on continents?

The ocean floor contains all of the geographic features that can be found on the continents: Mountains, volcanoes, plains, valleys, and canyons. These underwater landforms are many times taller, deeper, longer, and wider than those on dry land.

What are the features of the ocean floor?

Features of the ocean floor include the continental shelf and slope, abyssal plain, trenches, seamounts, and the mid-ocean ridge. The ocean floor is rich in resources. Living things on the ocean floor are used for food or medicines.

How does the ocean water and floor change as you go from the continental shelf to the abyssal plain?

The bathymetry of the sea floor reflects tectonics. The Continental shelf is underlain by thinning continental crust. The continental slope and rise are transitional between crustal types, and the abyssal plain is underlain by mafic oceanic crust.

What is the most important topographic feature of the ocean floor why?

The important features are the extensive continental shelves less than 250 m deep (pink); the vast deep ocean plains between 4,000 and 6,000 m deep (light and dark blue); the mid-Atlantic ridge, in many areas shallower than 3,000 m; and the deep ocean trench north of Puerto Rico (8,600 m).

What are two topographic features of the ocean floor?

Features of the ocean include the continental shelf, slope, and rise. The ocean floor is called the abyssal plain. Below the ocean floor, there are a few small deeper areas called ocean trenches. Features rising up from the ocean floor include seamounts, volcanic islands and the mid-oceanic ridges and rises.

What are 4 features of the ocean floor?

Which part of the ocean is the deepest?

Pacific Ocean
The Mariana Trench, in the Pacific Ocean, is the deepest location on Earth.

What are the three major topographic units of the ocean floor?

Physiography and bathymetry (submarine landscape) allow the sea floor to be subdivided into three distinct provinces: (1) continental margins, (2) deep ocean basins and (3) mid-oceanic ridges.

Why are there so many features on the ocean floor?

Many ocean floor features are a result of the interactions that occur at the edges of these plates. The shifting plates may collide (converge), move away (diverge) or slide past (transform) each other. As plates converge, one plate may move under the other causing earthquakes, forming volcanoes, or creating deep ocean trenches.

Are there Mountains and ridges on the ocean floor?

There are mountains, basins, plateaus, ridges, canyons and trenches beneath the ocean water too. These relief features found on the ocean floor are called Submarine Relief. The ocean basins are broadly divided into four major subdivisions. They are; Continental Shelf. Continental slope. Abyssal plains.

Is the floor of the Pacific Ocean flat?

The floor of the Pacific, like those of the other oceans, is actually very flat, even in areas with seamounts or deep trenches. The vast sediment-covered abyssal plains of the oceans are much flatter than any similar-sized areas on the continents.

Plate tectonics and the ocean floor. Bathymetry, the shape of the ocean floor, is largely a result of a process called plate tectonics. The outer rocky layer of the Earth includes about a dozen large sections called tectonic plates that are arranged like a spherical jig-saw puzzle floating on top of the Earth’s hot flowing mantle. …