Press "Enter" to skip to content

Is Lithuania a European country?

Is Lithuania a European country?

Lithuania. Lithuania is a member country of the EU since May 1, 2004 with its geographic size of 65,286 km², and population number 2,921,262, as per 2015. Lithuania’s currency is Euro (€) since it became a member of the Eurozone on January 1, 2014. The political system is a parliamentary republic.

When did Lithuania join the EU?

1 May 2004
The 2003 Lithuanian European Union referendum took place from 10 May to 11 May 2003 to decide whether Lithuania should join the European Union (EU). Over 90% of those who voted supported membership and Lithuania joined the EU on 1 May 2004.

What continent is Lithuania in?


Where is Lithuania located in relation to Europe?

Coordinates: 55°N 24°E / 55°N 24°E / 55; 24. Lithuania (/ˌlɪθjuˈeɪniə/ (listen) LITH-ew-AY-nee-ə; Lithuanian: Lietuva [lʲɪɛtʊˈvɐ]), officially the Republic of Lithuania (Lithuanian: Lietuvos Respublika), is a country in the Baltic region of Europe. Lithuania is considered to be one of the Baltic states.

How does Lithuania benefit from the European Union?

The money paid into the EU budget by Lithuania helps fund programmes and projects in all EU countries – like building roads, subsidising researchers and protecting the environment. Find out more about how Lithuania benefits from EU funding. Find what you wanted? What were you looking for? Any suggestions?

How many members of the European Parliament does Lithuania have?

There are 11 members of the European Parliament from Lithuania. Find out who these MEPs are. In the Council of the EU, national ministers meet regularly to adopt EU laws and coordinate policies.

Which is the official state language of Lithuania?

The Lithuanian language(lietuvių kalba) is the official state language of Lithuania and is recognized as one of the official languagesof the European Union. There are about 2.96 million native Lithuanian speakers in Lithuania and about 0.2 million abroad.