Press "Enter" to skip to content

Is the Blue Mountains a World Heritage Site?

Is the Blue Mountains a World Heritage Site?

World Heritage Places – Greater Blue Mountains. The Greater Blue Mountains was inscribed on the World Heritage List in 2000.

Why are national parks heritage listed?

National heritage-listed areas in national parks The National Heritage List contains heritage places of outstanding significance to the nation.

What makes the Blue Mountains so special?

The Blue Mountains is known for dramatic scenery. It has rugged sandstone tablelands, wilderness, valleys, waterfalls, rainforests, lookouts, canyons and so many wonderful walking trails. The Blue Mountains has so many lookouts, walks, towns, points of interests, flora and fauna it is impossible to cover them all.

Which mountain is called Blue Mountain in India?

Overlooking the hills of the neighbouring nation of Myanmar and the mighty River Chhimtuipui, is the highest peak in the state of Mizoram, Phawngpui, which is also known as the Blue Mountain.

Can trees be heritage listed?

This is a list of places, trees, natural formations, and buildings of cultural heritage significance. Listing on the State Heritage Register means that the heritage item is legally protected as a heritage item under the NSW Heritage Act and requires approval from the Heritage Council of NSW for major changes.

Are national parks heritage listed?

The UNESCO World Heritage List contains some of the most important examples of natural and cultural heritage in the world. NSW has six World Heritage properties listed for their natural and cultural values. Four are managed by NSW National Parks.

What is the story behind the three sisters?

The Aboriginal dream-time legend has it that three sisters, ‘Meehni’, ‘Wimlah’ and ‘Gunnedoo’ lived in the Jamison Valley as members of the Katoomba tribe. These beautiful young ladies had fallen in love with three brothers from the Nepean tribe, yet tribal law forbade them to marry.

Is the Blue Mountains a World Heritage Area?

The Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area of Australia is an awe-inspiring natural and cultural landscape of over a million hectares. The exceptional biodiversity and ecosystems of the Blue Mountains provide clean air and water to the Greater Sydney region and a healthy escape into nature for over five million visitors a year.

How big is the Greater Blue Mountains National Park?

The Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area is a million hectares of national park and wilderness dominated by temperate eucalypt forest.

Who is responsible for the Greater Blue Mountains?

The New South Wales Government is responsible for day-to-day management of the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area.

Why are the Blue Mountains important to Australia?

Criterion (ix): The Greater Blue Mountains include outstanding and representative examples in a relatively small area of the evolution and adaptation of the genus Eucalyptus and eucalypt-dominated vegetation on the Australian continent.