Press "Enter" to skip to content

Who is the current head of the African Union?

Who is the current head of the African Union?

President Felix- Antoine Tshisekedi Tshilombo
Leadership of the African Union changed hands at the 6-7 February 34th Ordinary Session of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government, as President Cyril Ramaphosa of the Republic of South Africa handed over the baton as Chair of the African Union to President Felix- Antoine Tshisekedi Tshilombo of the Democratic …

Who governs the African Union?

The current chair of the AU is President Félix Tshisekedi President of the Democratic Republic of the Congo. African Union Commission (or Authority) The secretariat of the African Union, composed of ten commissioners and supporting staff and headquartered in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Who is the current secretary general of African Union 2020?

Secretary-General, African Union Commission Chair Appoint Martin Ihoeghian Uhomoibhi of Nigeria Joint Special Representative for Darfur.

Where is the headquarters of African Union?

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
African Union/Headquarters

How many countries make up the African Union?

55 Member States
The AU is made up of 55 Member States which represent all the countries on the African continent. AU Member States are divided into five geographic regions….Member States.

Member State Abbreviation Date of joining the OAU or AU
Republic of the Congo Congo Republic 25 May 1963
Democratic Republic of Congo DR Congo 25 May 1963

Who are the permanent representatives of the African Union?

The Permanent Representatives Committee (PRC) comprises Permanent Representatives to the Union and other plenipotentiaries of Member States. The PRC conducts the day-to-day business of the African Union (AU) on behalf of the Assembly and Executive Council.

Who are the permanent members of the UN Security Council from Africa?

Other African countries jockeying for the permanent seats are South Africa, Nigeria, Kenya, Egypt and Libya. The African Union (AU) is flummoxed as to which of its member states to endorse, and has yet to establish the criteria to be used for selecting African countries to the reformed Security Council.

Who is the African Union Ambassador to the UN?

Under the leadership of Ambassador Fatima Kyari Mohammed, the Permanent Observer Mission of the African Union to the United Nations coordinates liaisons at an Ambassadorial level with other African Permanent Missions to the United Nations.

Who is the chief of Staff of the African Union?

The following offices report to the Chief of Staff in the Bureau of the Chairperson. Tel: +1 212 319 5491 or +1 212 319 5493 Fax: +1 212 319 7135 or +1 212 319 6509 Email: [email protected]