Press "Enter" to skip to content

Who is the head of government in Jamaica?

Who is the head of government in Jamaica?

The Prime Minister of Jamaica is Jamaica ‘s head of government, currently Andrew Holness. Holness, as leader of the governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), was sworn in as Prime Minister on 3 March 2016, succeeding People’s National Party (PNP) leader Portia Simpson-Miller. This was a result of the JLP’s victory in 2016 Jamaican general election .

Who are some of the greatest Jamaican leaders?

Find out more about the greatest Jamaican , including Marcus Garvey, Andrew Holness, Michael Manley, Alexander Bustamante and Portia Simpson-Miller. Famous Jamaican Leaders.

How many members of Parliament are there in Jamaica?

Prime Minister, the Most Hon. Andrew Holness (front row, second left) is surrounded by Ministers of State and some Cabinet Ministers, following the swearing-in ceremony for Ministers of State at King’s House on September 14, 2020. The House of Representatives may consist of 63 members.

Who was the first Prime Minister of Jamaica?

Prime Minister of Jamaica Formation 6 August 1962 First holder Sir William Bustamante as Chief Minister Deputy Dr. Horace Chang Salary $JMD 7,271,283 apx* annually

Who is the leader of the Jamaica Labour Party?

Golding resigned as head of the party and Prime Minister in October 2011 and was succeeded by current leader Andrew Holness. Soon after becoming leader, Holness called an election over a year before it was constitutionally due, and the party lost by a 2:1 margin to the PNP. Holness was not blamed for the defeat,…

Who was the leader of Jamaica in 1993?

He retired from politics in 1992, and was replaced as party leader by P. J. Patterson. Patterson led the PNP to victory in 1993, 1997, and 2002, becoming the first political leader in Jamaican history to win three successive general elections.